Home Page

Pear Tree Infant School

Together we will help your child achieve

Meet the Governors

School Governors


The Board of Governors at Pear Tree Infant School are made up from three categories: 

Co-opted Governor - a governor who is appointed by existing governors on the basis of skills and/or experience. 

Parent Governor - a governor who is appointed by parents of either Walbrook Nursery School or

Pear Tree Infant School or existing governors.


The definition of parent under education law covers:

                                     All natural parents whether they are married or not

                                    Any person who has parental responsibility for a child or young person; any person

                                  who has care of a child/young person i.e. lives with and looks after the child.


The school will need to decide who comes within the definition of parent in respect of a particular pupil

but generally parents include all those with day to day responsibility for a child.


Staff Governor - a governor who is appointed by members of staff at Pear Tree Infant and Walbrook Nursery School

Currently we do not have any Associate Members on our Board of Governors. Associate Members are not governors,

they can be pupils, school staff and people who want to contribute specifically on issues related to their area of expertise

(for instance, finance) can be appointed as associate members